The Edgar Award Winners for Best Mystery Novels

Complete list of the Edgar Prize Authors.

The Mystery Writers of America membership includes writers of books, short stories, plays, and screenplays writing in the mystery and crime genre. The Edgar Award is awarded to authors of distinguished work in various categories of the genre. Judges include publishers, editors, agents, librarians, booksellers, and aspiring writers and others devoted to crime writing.


2014 William Kent Krueger Ordinary Grace
2013 Dennis Lehane Live by Night
2012 Mo Hayder Gone
2011 Steve Hamilton The Lock Artist
2010 John Hart The Last Child
2009 C.J. Box Blue Heaven
2008 John Hart Down River
2007 Jason Goodwin The Janissary Tree
2006 Jess Walter Citizen Vince
2005 T. Jefferson Parker California Girl
2004 Ian Rankin Resurrection Men
2003 S.J. Rozan Winter and Night
2002 T. Jefferson Parker Silent Joe
2001 Joe R. Lansdale The Bottoms
2000 Jan Burke Bones
1999 Robert Clark Mr. White's Confession
1998 James Lee Burke Cimarron Rose
1997 Thomas H. Cook The Chatham School Affair
1996 Dick Francis Come to Grief
1995 Mary Willis Walker The Red Scream
1994 Minette Walters The Sculptress
1993 Margaret Maron Bootlegger's Daughter
1992 Lawrence Block A Dance at the Slaughterhouse
1991 Julie Smith New Orleans Mourning
1990 James Lee Burke Black Cherry Blues
1989 Stuart M. Kaminsky A Cold Red Sunrise
1988 Aaron Elkins Old Bones
1987 Barbara Vine A Dark-Adapted Eye
1986 L.R. Wright The Suspect
1985 Ross Thomas Briarpatch
1984 Elmore Leonard La Brava
1983 Rick Boyer Billingsgate Shoal
1982 William Bayer Peregrine
1981 Dick Francis Whip Hand
1980 Arthur Maling The Rheingold Route
1979 Ken Follett The Eye of the Needle
1978 William H. Hallahan Catch Me: Kill Me
1977 Robert B. Parker Promised Land
1976 Brian Garfield Hopscotch
1975 Jon Cleary Peter's Pence
1974 Tony Hillerman Dance Hall of the Dead
1973 Warren Kiefer The Lingala Code
1972 Frederick Forsyth The Day of the Jackal
1971 Maj Sjowall, Per Wahloo The Laughing Policeman
1970 Dick Francis Forfeit
1969 Jeffery Hudson A Case of Need
1968 Donald E. Westlake God Save the Mark
1967 Nicolas Freeling The King of the Rainy Country
1966 Adam Hall The Quiller Memorandum
1965 John le Carre The Spy Who Came in From the Cold
1964 Eric Ambler The Light of Day
1963 Ellis Peters Death and the Joyful Woman
1962 J.J. Marric Gideon's Fire
1961 Julian Symons The Progress of a Crime
1960 Celia Fremlin The Hours Before Dawn
1959 Stanley Ellin The Eighth Circle
1958 Ed Lacy Room to Swing
1957 Charlotte Armstrong A Dram of Poison
1956 Margaret Millar Beast in View
1955 Raymond Chandler The Long Goodbye
1954 Charlotte Jay Beat Not the Bones