PEN/Faulkner Award Winners

Complete list of the PEN/Faulkner Award winners and finalists.

The PEN/Faulkner Award is presented annually for a distinguished work of fiction by an American author.

Year Author Title
2013 Benjamin Alire Senz Everything Begins & Ends at the Kentucky Club: stories
2012 Julie Otsuka The Buddha in the Attic
2011 Deborah Eisenberg The Collected Stories of Deborah Eisenberg
2010 Sherman Alexie
War Dances  
2009 Joseph O'Neill Netherland
2008 Kate Christensen The Great Man
2007 Roth, Phillip Everyman
2006 Doctorow, E. L. The March
2005 Jin, Ha War Trash
2004 Updike, John The Early Stories
2003 Murray, Sabrina The Caprices
2002 Roth, Philip The Human Stain
2001 Patchett, Ann Bel Canto
2000 Jin, Ha Waiting
1999 Cunningham, Michael The Hours
1998 Zabor, Rafi The Bear Comes Home
1997 Berriault, Gina Women in Their Beds
1996 Ford, Richard Independence Day
1995 Guterson, David Snow Falling on Cedars
1994 Roth, Philip Operation Shylock: a Confession
1993 Proulx, E. Annie Postcards
1992 DeLillo, Don Mao II
1991 Wideman, John Edgar Philadelphia Fire
1990 Doctorow, E. L. Billy Bathgate
1989 Salter, James Dusk and other stories
1988 Boyle, T. Coraghessan World's End
1987 Wiley, Richard Soldiers in Hiding
1986 Taylor, Peter Hillsman Old Forest and Other Stories
1985 Wolff, Tobias Barracks Thief
1984 Wideman, John Edgar Sent for You Yesterday
1983 Olson, Toby Seaview
1982 Bradley, David The Chaneysville Incident
1981 Abish, Walter How German Is It?